Wow- the year has been off to a quick and great start!
We just had recommitment for Team in Training last week. To date, our triathlon team has raised over $43,ooo for the Leukemia and Lymphoma society. How awesome is that?!?! I am at 62% of my fundraising goal and have raised $1,560- so thanks to everyone who has supported me thus far. Want to help out? $10 from a few people adds up quickly.
Photo of Monday night swim practices at Dynamo.
Had a great weekend of workouts. We headed out to Harbins Park in Dacula on Saturday morning for a very windy, 50 Mile Ride. I have been so focused on getting through this Marathon (March 18th) that I have neglected my outdoor bike riding. I forgot how much I really do love biking. It was a tough but great ride with the group! It's been mentally challenging and tough for me to get my passion back after my wreck and surgery in late 2010 but rides like Saturday remind me of why I love cycling. Back country roads, beautiful sunny days, and great people.
We went out last night as a Team to Fado's Irish Pub. This is a hidden treasure that is only a little over a mile from me that I had never checked out! Good times with the group. It's amazing how attractive everyone is when they are not in swim suits and spandex ;)
I got up this morning, went to church and then headed to Column's for my last long run before the Marathon. Today was GORGEOUS!! It was in the mid to high 50's! Thanks to Christian for getting me through the first2 hours of my run!! I am sun burnt. I can't believe it. I looked in the mirror and my face, neck, and half of my arms where I had rolled up sleeves are burnt! Oh how pale and fair I am. I wanted to hit 20 miles today, but after yesterday all my legs had in them were 17.5. Still a very solid run.
Because of this ^ I have indulged a little in this... (More Captain the cookies. I now prefer to drink my calories.. haha)

Also just a photo for fun. It is not always warm and sunny in the ATL. It was crazy cold 2 weeks ago with nasty wind. I still managed to get outside for some fresh air. I AM SCARY :)

I got a gym membership at LA Fitness at the start of the year and actually got a trainer 2 times a week. I've been so cardio focused that I have not spent any time on weight lifting/ plyometric based workouts. This girl Victoria has been kicking my BUTT. It's amazing how you think you are in good shape and get put to shame in 3 minutes. I've been really trying to focus on strengthening my core and my weak skinny arms. I really hope that doing this can take my fitness to the next level. Someone posted a quote the other day that I really liked. "
“If you do what you've always done, you'll get what you've always gotten.”
So as much as I hate to pay for someone to train me (and it is ridiculously expensive in my opinion) I am happy with my progress.Even though I feel like all I do is work and workout, I've managed to have a little fun here and there :) I saw Kelly Clarkson on Thursday at the fox (another bucket list item) and she ROCKED out. I put on my own concert (I apologize to the guy who sat next to me!)
I have a crazy next couple of months and a lot to really look forward to. Even though I've been going through a tough time lately, I am really blessed with good family, friends, and so fortunate to travel and do everything I am able to do. I sometimes get caught up in the drama of life and negativity and don't appreciate how good I REALLY do have it. Special shout out to my friends who have listened to me bitch , cry, and complain :) I'm going to continue on with my eternal optimism, people ARE good (despite a few bad apples) , and the glass if half full!!!!!

A cute valentine clutch from my Mama :) I love that at 24 I still get Valentine's Day packages. My dad also sent me some stemless wine glasses and a decanter. (Ok so I think he re-gifted it to me but HEY... I like it!)
LIfe Schedule:
March 10-15th Aruba
March 18th Marathon (Atlanta)
March 21-23 Tampa (Work Trip)
March 23-25- Visiting the Peter's in Sarasota
April 4th-8th Easter and my parents and sister are coming to visit me!!!
April 22-24th- Trip to Indiana University to see the Wing It ladies kill it in the 25th Women's Anniversary Little 500
May 5th-6th Knoxville 70.3 with Team in Training.

Ok yes I did take a mirror picture of myself with my iphone in the bathroom :) Sometime getting dolled up just makes you feel better, prettier, and happier. Although I am still the queen of sweat pants and no make up!!!
Thanks for reading :) I hope everyone had a great weekend and is ready to dominate another week!!!!!!!
LOVED reading about this and all your goals and accomplishments; you are amazing! I'm like wow!! You ran for 3 hours today!! I walked for an hour ha! Proud of you!!
ReplyDelete